Senate candidates to debate on October 4


Four veteran Mississippi journalists will serve as moderator and panelists for “Decision 2018: Mississippi U.S. Senate Debate.”

Wilson Stribling, host of @ISSUE on Mississippi Public Broadcasting and news anchor/reporter of WLBT-TV in Jackson, will serve as moderator for the debate. The panel of journalists presenting questions to the candidates include Emily Wagster Pettus, political reporter with the Associated Press; R.L. Nave, editor-in-chief of Mississippi Today; and Desare Frazier, reporter with Mississippi Public Broadcasting.

The debate will feature candidates Mike Espy, former Congressman and U.S. Secretary of Agriculture; State Senator Chris McDaniel; and Tobey Bartee, former U.S. Navy Intelligence Officer. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith has an open invitation to join the debate but has cited scheduling issues with the Senate calendar as a likely obstacle to her participation.

Millsaps College and Mississippi Public Broadcasting are partnering to present the debate in the special election to fill the unexpired term of former U.S. Senator Thad Cochran.

“Decision 2018: Mississippi U.S. Senate Debate” will take place on Thursday, October 4 at 7 p.m. in the Recital Hall of the Gertrude C. Ford Academic Complex on the Millsaps campus and will be broadcast live on Mississippi Public Broadcasting Television, MPB Think Radio and online via MPB’s YouTube channel here.

The debate is open to the public, and there is no admission fee. Seating is limited and will be provided on a first-come, first-served basis. Doors of the Recital Hall will open at 6:15 p.m.