Runoff election Tuesday


Yazoo County Circuit Clerk Robert Coleman is expecting a very high turnout as voters return to the polls on Nov. 27 to select a U.S. senator and county tax collector.

“We had over 40 percent of voters come out in the first election,” Coleman said. “We speculate even more in this election.”

U.S. Senate

Mike Espy, who will face Republican Cindy Hyde-Smith in a runoff on Nov. 27, received 3,804 votes to Hyde-Smith’s 2,792 during the previous election.

The winner of the runoff will complete the two years left in the unexpired term of U.S. Senator Thad Cochran, who resigned in April.

Tax Collector

Yazoo County voters will also choose between Tommy Irvine Sr. and Ashley Tyson Saxton for tax collector.

Irvine received 44.70 percent of the vote with 2,977 votes to Saxton’s 2,623 (39.38 percent) during the previous election.

District 2 Court of Appeals

In the race to elect a judge to replace the retiring Judge Tyree Irving, Deborah McDonald received 50.73 percent of the vote in Yazoo County with 2,846 votes.

Eric Charles Hawkins received 1,925 votes.

McDonald and Hawkins will also be on the ballot in the Nov. 27 runoff as McDonald finished just shy of 50 percent district-wide.

Special office hours

With the holiday season this week, Coleman said his office will be open Monday through Wednesday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. and from 8 a.m. until noon.

“Absentee voters have this time to complete their information,” Coleman said. “If someone is doing an absentee ballot by mail, they need to go ahead and send in their information back to us because of the holiday season. That information must be received by the post office no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 26.”