Yazoo voters will return to polls on Nov. 27


Mike Espy received strong support from his hometown voters as he carried Yazoo County with 52.48 percent of the vote.

Espy, who will face Republican Cindy Hyde-Smith in a runoff on Nov. 27, received 3,804 votes to Hyde-Smith’s 2,792.

Chris McDaniel finished third with 308 votes.

Yazoo County voters will also choose between Tommy Irvine Sr. and Ashley Tyson Saxton for tax collector.

Irvine received 44.70 percent of the vote with 2,977 votes to Saxton’s 2,623 (39.38 percent).

Dewell Ladner received 1,043 votes.

More detailed election results will appear in Saturday’s edition of The Yazoo Herald.