Focus on the Children Civic Club

Twelve fifth grade students from McCoy Elementary School were recently honored at the Yazoo Community Complex on Canal Street for their roles as officers in a new Civic Club sponsored by Focus on the Children. Organized by Coach Johnny Staples, the Civic Club is designed to involve students in the democratic process, discuss issues students face every day at school, and create ways to make the school environment better. The goal of Focus on the Children is to create more civic clubs like this one at each of the schools in the area so that all students can eventually get together to discuss common issues affecting them. Pictured are Joseph Thomas Jr. and Cynthia Johnson Walker with the twelve student officers of the McCoy Elementary Civic Club: Talazia Kelly - President; Jarvin Barber - Vice President; Tyler Howard - Treasurer; Bre'Taesia Porter - Vice Treasurer; Jamiya Miles - Secretary; Jhosthne Tavera - Vice Secretary; Gregory Taylor - Parliamentarian; Desmond Collum - Vice Parliamentarian; Jacorion Taylor - Sargent at Arms; Amaretto Plunkett - Vice Sargent at Arms; Jacsha Fleming - Reporter; and Kadijah Sims - Vice Reporter.